Thursday Snippets, 22 June

This coming weekend we have ASC’s annual Winter Regatta. Preferred online entry, notice of race and sailing instructions on Short race format. Information session at 1pm for starts from 1.45 on Saturday. Then Sunday (am, pm). Late entries possible up to Information Session. With a cold front predicted Friday night there should be moderate winds across the weekend which will be a welcome change from the light winds over the last month or so. Visitors sailing, spectating or enjoying the warmth of our clubhouse welcome as always.

As at 9am on Thursday 22nd there were 45 Regatta entries. An up to date listing of entries by name and clas will be published on at approximately 1pm Thursday. There are a couple of ‘demo’ Aero class boats in 7 or 5 sq metre sail configurations available for the weekend for club or state level sailors. Email if you are interested.

There is a special invite to Optimist, Minnow and Open Bic sailors and their parents and anyone else interested to a Presentation for junior sailors in ASC clubrooms 12.20 to 12.40 on Saturday. This precedes the 1pm Day one Information Session. Krystal Weir and Mark Tonner Joyce, two experienced Laser class sailors and coaches will present and discuss Laser 4.7 Pathway Training and Development programs.

On sunday 18th The Yachting Victoria annual Presentations were held at Sandringham Yacht Club. Congratulations and well done to :
* Luke Tupper, one of our past Commodore’s, a joint winner of Race Official of the Year for his efforts with Schools Sailing and as a State sailing judge.
* Finn McMahon, one of our ASC juniors who won the season long Victorian Cup for the Optimist class and was a nominee for the Junior Sailor of the Year (nominated by ASC).
* Kate Hyde, Victorian Sailing Instructor of the Year. Kate is Chief Instructor at Rye Yacht Club and was contracted to ASC through the the Albert Park Boatshed as lead instructor for ASC’s April School holiday and ASC’s Term 2 Saturday afternoon green fleet programs.

Rod Thomas
for ASC committee

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.